Skip Navigation

Political Parties

Executive Committees
Florida law, Section 103.091, provides that each political party shall have a state executive committee. These state committees may establish county executive committees. Committee members represent the precinct in which they live. In Alachua County, both the Democrat and Republican parties have executive committees. The election of members of these committees are held in the First Primary election in a Presidential election year. Some minor parties have similiar organizations.

There are usually two or four members from each precinct. Vacancies may be filled by appointment. County executive committees must file a list of their members' names and addresses with the Supervisor of Elections Office.

Candidates for county executive committee elections must file with the Supervisor of Elections during the qualifying period, which no earlier than noon of the 71st day, or later than noon of the 67th day, preceding to a Primary Election in the presidential election year (F.S. 103.091(4). Members of executive committees are not considered "public officials" under Florida's Government-in-the Sunshine laws; however, they are subject to the same reporting requirements like for other candidates under s. 106.07, F.S.  Effective November 1, 2013, "an individual seeking a publicly elected position on a political party executive committee who receives a contribution or makes an expenditure shall file a report of all contributions received and all expenditures made.  The report shall be filed on the 4th day immediately preceding the Primary Election." (F.S. 107.0702)

For further information on county executive committees, contact the Supervisor of Elections Office or the county office of one of the political parties.

State Political Party Information
Information regarding state political parties can be viewed on the Florida Division of Elections website.

Local Political Party Information

Democratic Party of Alachua County

Harrison Scoville, Chair

J. Maggio, Vice Chair 

Dari Smith, Treasurer 

Headquarters: 901 NW 8th Avenue, Suite A-3, Gainesville, FL 32601

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5476, Gainesville, FL 32627-5216

Phone: 352-373-1730


Libertarian Party of Alachua County

James Ward, Chair

Carl Horton, Treasurer

Mailing Address: 5200 NW 43rd Street, Suite 102-263, Gainesville, FL  32606

Phone: (352) 377-6909


Republican Party of Alachua County

Tim Marden, Chair

Ray Holt, Vice Chair

Ann Stone, Treasurer

Mailing Address: 1722 NW 80th Boulevard, Suite 70, Gainesville 32606

Phone: (352) 373-8500